Manage Privileges

About Security in Metrics and Scorecards

In Predix Essentials, you can manage privileges for specific:

Note: Members of the MI Metrics Administrator Security Group can manage the privileges for individual KPIs and Scorecards. Other users can manage privileges only for the KPIs and Scorecards that they created and for which they have been granted update privileges.

About KPI Privileges

The KPI privileges that you set up in the Predix Essentials are applied in addition to family-level permissions defined for the KPI families.

By default, all the MI Metrics User are given the View, Insert, Update, and Delete permissions to the KPI family.

You can also manage privileges at entity-level by selecting the users and groups that should have access to a given KPI. Via the Schedule, Alerts, and Privileges section, you can grant or revoke the privileges for the users and the groups.

The Super Users and members of the MI Metrics Administrator Security Group can, by default, manage privileges for all KPIs. Other users can manage the privileges for a KPI that they create, unless those privileges are revoked by an administrative user. Non-administrative users can also manage privileges for KPIs to which they have been granted Update privilege.

About Scorecard Privileges

The Scorecard privileges that you set up in the Predix Essentials are applied in addition to family-level permissions defined for the Scorecard families. By default, all the MI Metrics User are given the View, Insert, Update, and Delete permissions to the Scorecard family.

You can also manage privileges at entity-level by selecting the users and groups that should have access to a given Scorecard. Via the Privileges section, you can grant or revoke the privileges for users and groups.

The Super Users and members of the MI Metrics Administrator Security Group can manage privileges for all Scorecards. By default, other users can manage the privileges for any Scorecards that they create, unless those privileges are revoked by an administrative user. Non-administrative users can also manage privileges for Scorecards to which they have been granted Update privilege.

Modify Access Rights to a Scorecard

About This Task

To view a Scorecard, a user must be granted privileges to specific Scorecards via the Predix Essentials application. You can revoke privileges for users and groups that no longer need to access the Scorecard.

Note: Super Users and members of the MI Metrics Administrator Security Group can manage privileges for ALL Scorecards. Other users can, by default, manage the privileges for any Scorecard that they create, unless those privileges are revoked by an administrative user. Non-administrative users can also manage privileges for Scorecards to which they have been granted Update privileges.

Procedure

  1. Access the Scorecard design page.
  2. Select the Privileges tab.

    The Privileges section appears, displaying the User/Group subsection.

    Note: To revoke access from a user or group, in the User/Group list, next to the user or group whose privileges you want to revoke, select .
  3. To grant access to users and groups, select the User/Group link.

    The Select Users or Groups window appears, displaying the User section.

  4. Next to each user to whom you want to grant access to the Scorecard, select the check box.
  5. Select the Group tab.
    The Group section appears.
  6. Next to each group to which you want to grant access to the Scorecard, select the check box.
  7. Select OK.
    The Select Users or Groups window closes, and the new users or groups appears in the User/Group list.
  8. In the User/Group list, next to each user or group, clear the check boxes for any privileges that you do not want the user or group to have:
    • View: Allows the user or the group to view the Scorecard.
    • Update: Allows the user or the group to edit the Scorecard.
    • Delete: Allows the user or the group to delete the Scorecard.
  9. In the upper-right corner of the page, select .
    Your changes are saved.

Modify Access Rights to a KPI

About This Task

To view a KPI, a user must be granted privileges to specific KPIs via the Predix Essentials application. By managing privileges, you select the users and groups that have access rights to a given KPI. You can also revoke privileges for users and groups that no longer need to access the KPI.

Note: Super Users and members of the MI Metrics Administrator Security Group can manage privileges for all KPIs. Other users can manage the privileges for any KPI that they create by default, unless those privileges are revoked by an administrative user. Non-administrative users can also manage privileges for KPIs to which they have been granted Update privileges.

Procedure

  1. Access the KPI design page.
  2. In the upper-right corner of the page, select .
    The KPI design page appears.
  3. Select the Schedule, Alerts, and Privileges tab.
    The Schedule, Alerts, and Privileges section appears, displaying the Select Users or Group list in the Privileges subsection.
    Note: To revoke access from a user or group, in the User/Group list, next to the user or group whose privileges you want to revoke, select .
  4. To grant access to users and groups, select the User/Group link.
    The Select User or Group window appears displaying the User section.
  5. Next to each user to whom you want to grant access to the KPI, select the check box.
  6. Select the Group tab.
    The Group section appears.
  7. Next to each group to which you want to grant access to the KPI, select the check box.
  8. Select OK .
    The Select Users or Group window closes, and the new users and groups appear in the User/Group list.
  9. In the User/Group list, next to each user or group, clear the check boxes for any privileges that you do not want the user or group to have:
    • View: Allows the user or the group to view the KPI.
    • Update: Allows the user or the group to edit the KPI
    • Delete: Allows the user or the group to delete the KPI.
  10. In the upper-right corner of the page, select .
    Your changes are saved.